Friday, January 18, 2008

Nobel Peace Prize - by Evan

Nobel Peace Prize

Speaking of Martin Luther King Jr., he won the Nobel Prize in 1964. The prize is given on December 10th, which is Alfred Nobel’s death anniversary. The prize is awarded in Oslo, Norway (Oslo is Norway’s capitol). The ceremony is held in the Oslo City Hall. Albert Arnold Gore Jr. was the 2007 winner. The first prize was awarded in 1901 to Jean Henri Dunant and Frédéric Passy. There was no award in: 1914, 1915, 1916, 1918, 1923, 1934, 1938, 1939, 1940, 1941, 1942, 1943, 1948, 1955, 1956, 1966, 1967, and 1972. Adolf Hitler was nominated in1939 by Erik Brandt, but Brandt took back the nomination after a couple of days. Theodore Roosevelt was awarded the prize in 1906. In 2005, the Nobel Peace Center opened to present the winners and what they did to make the world more peaceful.


Here are some cool facts on the Nobel Peace Prize
Here are more facts on the prize.



Room 206 said...

Interesting information! Thanks for taking the time to post, Evan.

Mrs. C.

Anonymous said...

Nice work Evan keep on the great work. Best of luck.

From saheel

Mr. H. said...

Evan, Some of the years there was no Nobel Peace prize were in the years of World War 1 and World II. You're doing some nice research. It's fun to see what you're doing.
Charlie aka Mr. H.

Post a Comment